What are the nine Enneagram types?

The Enneagram helps people understand themselves and others better. It describes nine different personalities with numbers from 1 to 9. You can read detailed descriptions by clicking on any of the types below.
Illustration of Faces representing different Enneagram personalities

Introduction to The Enneagram Types 

Each of the nine Enneagram types has its own unique worldview and motivation. One of them shapes you the most. That is your personality type.

What is your Enneagram type? Take our free Enneagram test to find out.

The nine types aren’t given their numbers at random. They follow the idea that three core aspects of what makes us human sort the nine types into three groups: Head Types, Heart Types, and Body Types. 

Heart, or feeling, centered Enneagram types: Types Two, Three and Four
Head-centered Enneagram types: Types Five, Six, and Seven
Body, or gut, centered Enneagram types: Types Eight, Nine, and One

Each group (often also called triads) is driven by their center of intelligence and has a core emotion. Just as you carry a little bit of each type in you, you are shaped by all three of these aspects, but the group your type belongs to plays a greater role in your life. You can learn about it here.


Illustration of Enneagram Type 1 personality

Type 1 | "Improver"

Ones can lead through integrity and reason, but also be challenged by perfectionism and resentment. Read more about Ones.

Type 2  | "Helper"

Twos can shine with generosity and intuiting people’s needs, but also struggle with defending their own boundaries and people-pleasing. Read more about Twos.

Illustration of Enneagram Type 2 personality
Illustration of Enneagram Type 3 personality

Type 3 | "Performer"

Threes can be inspiring examples of excellence and authenticity, but also blindly pursue success and status. Read more about Threes.

Type 4 | "Individualist"

Fours can open people’s eyes to the beauty of the world and shine with authenticity, but also be held back by moodiness and self-absorption. Read more about Fours.

Illustration of Enneagram Type 4 personality
Illustration of Enneagram Type 5 personality

Type 5  | "Investigator"

Fives can demonstrate visionary intellect and inventiveness or become increasingly socially withdrawn and secretive. Read more about Fives.

Type 6 | "Loyalist"

Sixes can exemplify courage and commitment, but also struggle with anxiety and rebelliousness. Read more about Sixes.

Illustration of Enneagram Type 6 personality
Illustration of Enneagram Type 7 personality

Type 7 | "Enthusiast"

Sevens can become uplifting visionaries and agents for positive change or struggle with impulsiveness and impatience. Read more about Sevens.

Type 8  | "Challenger"

Eights can be powerful, selfless leaders, but also control and intimidate others. Read more about Eights.

Illustration of Enneagram Type 8 personality
Illustration of Enneagram Type 9 personality

Type 9 | "Peacemaker"

Nines can bring people together and heal conflicts or be held back by passivity and stubbornness. Read more about Nines.

Unlock your Premium Profile

Find out how to improve your relationships, your work and your life...

...and how to get practical about growing with your Enneagram type
Learn more
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 months ago

Reminds me of the Myers Briggs personality Inventory. Yet theoretical underpinnings seem much deeper. As a psychologist myself I am much appreciate this program.

3 months ago

Just what I needed!

to top
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram